Fifteen European Union and Schengen Countries Granting Visa-free Access for Macao SAR Passports


   The Identification Department of the Government of the Macao SAR was
informed by the Consul-General of Sweden, the Current President of the
EU in Hong Kong, that 15 European countries are granting visa-free access
for Macao SAR passports as of 10 April 2001.

   Macao SAR passport holders can enter the following European countries
without a visa and stay for up to 90 days.  These include 13 European Union
member countries: Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany,
Greece, Italy, Luxemburg, the Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, and
2 parties to the Schengen Agreement: Iceland and Norway.